Once the center of smuggling in the town, Gunsgreen House has since became an iconic landmark within the town of Eyemouth. Built in 1753 and designed by renowned architect John Adam, Gunsgreen House was the home of local merchant John Nisbet. Nisbet was a notorious and brazen smuggler who designed Gunsgreen House with the storage of smuggled goods such as Brandy, Tobacco and Tea in mind. Under the house a network of tunnels and cellars connect the harbour allowing ships to offload cargo at night and avoiding the huge duties imposed on luxury goods by the British government at the time.
This image will be supplied printed on 200gsm silk, light card and is presented in a cardboard backed, cellophane fronted bag ready for framing.